The Quest for Chocolate

I purchased some amazing chocolate at Whole Foods Market a few weeks ago.  They are allowed on the maintenance plan but expensive.  $4.00 for a bar of 80% dark chocolate is a bit excessive.  The recipes online look delicious and easy so, I wanted to try and make some treats.  I thought I might get lucky and hit a home run with my first batch but that’s just not the case.

Here’s a link to the recipe’s website in case you want to give it a try.  Chocolate

Things seemed to be going well during the cooking process.  I was in the final few minutes of stirring the beautiful chocolate mixture then suddenly…I smelled it.  “Oooh, I think it’s burning!”  I turned down the heat and immediately the mixture started separating.  I kept stirring but the oil was pulling out of the chocolate.

I decided to follow through with the recipe and poured the chocolate into the tiny muffin pan that I bought.  I put them in the freezer to harden.  I cleaned up my mess and went to bed.

The next day I pulled out the chocolate and tasted it.  Ugh!  I’ve never tasted burnt chocolate before.  It’s so not delicious.  But, the chocolates looked tastey.  Oh well.

Next up, almond flour brownies.  I have to admit that after the almond flour pizza crust I made last week, I’m not excited about trying the brownie recipe.  Stay posted, I’ll let you know how the brownies work out when I get up the courage to try the recipe.

chocolate

